Jon Goes On…Hunger Games

Being the film geek that I am, I purposely didn’t read the book before seeing the movie, The Hunger Games. I wanted to judge it as a film first and not an adaptation.

PROS : )
• The sound track and sound design was amazing! The film’s use of music and the appropriateness of the music made the viewing experience that much better.
• The movie treats its intended younger audience in an intelligent way–never preachy or talking down.
• The casting was fantastic. I liked everyone but thought that Elizabeth Banks, Donald Sutherland, Woody Harrelson, and Lenny Kravitz gave the film some weight. And my favorite is Stanley Tucci…he gave his character, Caesar, just the right amount of over-the-top cheeziness.

CONS : (
• Just one…and it’s not even that bad…I thought the shaky cam was a bit much. It worked for the fight scenes but I didn’t think it was necessary for the non-action scenes.

FINAL THOUGHTS…
This might end up being my (unexpected) favorite film of the year!

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

